Tag Archives: Ratzinger Prize

Philosophy and theology are important in the Church’s dialogue with the contemporary world

Brian Daley Ratzinger Award Alan Holdren CNA.jpgThe Ratzinger Prize is getting a whole currency these days: it is the second year that’s been bestowed on worthy scholars. What’s novel of me is that it’s not everyday that you get a prize for serious work from the man the prize is named after, and that he’s the Supreme Pontiff! The 2012 Ratzinger Prize was given to a French philosopher and American theologian on Saturday, October 20, 2012. Pope Benedict said that “Father Daley and Professor Brague are exemplary for the transmission of knowledge that unites science and wisdom, scientific rigor and passion for man, so that man might discover the [true] ‘art of living.'” Chris Altieri has the Vatican Radio report here.

Read more ...

Ratzinger Prize 2012

The “Ratzinger
Prize” is also known as the “Nobel of Theology.” The Prize is sponsored by the
Joseph Ratzinger (Benedict XVI) Vatican Foundation, whose aim is to “promote
the publication, distribution and study of the writings of former university
professor Joseph Ratzinger.” The Prize, though, recognizes excellence in theological study and teaching and not the echoing Ratzinger’s thought. Vatican Radio explains more here.

In 2010, the Holy Father established, in consultation with other, a
Prize in Theology noting three areas: Sacred Scripture, Patristics and
Fundamental Theology.


  • Rémi Brague, Professor emeritus of medieval and
    Arabic philosophy, University Panthéon-Sorbonne (Paris I) and professor of
    Philosophy of the European religions (Romano Guardini Chair), Ludwig-
    Maximilian University
  • Father Brian E. Daley, SJ, Professor of Theology,
    University of Notre Dame


  • Professor Dr.
    Manlio Simonetti, Professor of Ancient Christian Studies and Patristic Biblical
    Interpretation, La Sapienza University
  • Father Dr. Olegario González
    de Cardedal
    , Professor of Dogmatic and Fundamental Theology, Pontifical
    University of Salamanca
  • Father Dr. Maximilian Heim, OCist, Abbot of
    Heiligenkreuz Monastery, Austria, Professor of Dogmatic and Fundamental
    Theology, University of Heiligenkreuz.
The Ratzinger Prize will be conferred on Brague and Daley on 20 October 2012, during the Synod of Bishops on the New Evangelization.


I am delighted that Father Brian won the prize not merely because I know him (lived with him when I was in studies at Notre Dame) but he is a generous man, a faithful priest, and terrific scholar and teacher. 

Father Brian is a New York Province Jesuit, studied at Fordham, Frankfurt and Osford, and he is an avid runner.

Ratzinger Prize given to 3

WOW! Imagine giving a prize in your own name! Well, if you are the Pope and an eminent theologian, you can (and will). This is cool, as “they” say. Vatican Radio announced today that the Pope has given the prize in theological studies in this thought. While 2 of the 3 are senior in age and wisdom, but don’t be fooled: all of them are top scholars and widely known; the youngest recipient has a lot more juice in him. Abbot Maximillian is the author of a brilliant book on Ratzinger’s theology, Joseph Ratzinger: Life in the Church and Living Theology (Ignatius Press 2007). 

The Rome Reports story is here. The Holy See’s story follows:

Thumbnail image for b16 at the Lateran.jpg

The first three winners of the Ratzinger Prize were
announced on Tuesday in the Vatican Press Office. The prize was established
last year to promote theological studies on the writings of the Pope, and to
reward promising scholars. The prizes will be given out by Pope Benedict on
June 30th.

The Ratzinger Prize is a project of the Joseph
Ratzinger-Benedict XVI Vatican Foundation, which was funded by Pope Benedict
with the royalties he has received from his books.

The prizes and the
conferences the foundation sponsors focus on helping the truth, meaning and
beauty of Christianity in relation to today’s culture and society emerge.

Tuesday, the first three winners of the Ratzinger Prize were announced.

Read more ...

About the author

Paul A. Zalonski is from New Haven, CT. He is a member of the Fraternity of Communion and Liberation, a Catholic ecclesial movement, and an Oblate of Saint Benedict. Contact Paul at paulzalonski[at]yahoo.com.
coat of arms



Humanities Blog Directory